June 4, 2013

  • Xanga And Facebook!

    You know most of my friends on xanga also have facebook accounts.

    And the new xanga will let the free xanga accounts read blogs and comment.

    I frequently post a blog here and link to it on my facebook -
    and likely will continue to do so in the future.

    Frankly, I don't see the mass exodus from xanga happening when blogging is no longer free.

    I do envision people posting more on facebook and less on xanga -
    but for the most part - that has already happened!

    The people who really want to blog will continue to do so on xanga -
    for 13 cents a day!

    And their friends will still come and read popular blogs like Dans.

    A neat feature for the new xanga might be for xanga to allow facebook accounts to comment on xanga posts.

    Probably most of the people threatening to leave will use their free xanga accounts,
    and come and read Dan or @Seedsower or @Megabyyte and post comments.

    Who knows they might even read my blog or Aloysious_son's!

    Relaunch Xanga!

Comments (15)

  • I don't want to blog on Facebook because I don't want my relatives reading what I write. Also, I'm afraid it's less secure---that might be a misconception on my part. If 2.0 works out, I will probably go there. So far, my experience with WordPress hasn't been great.

  • You got that right, unless you are on top blogs normally I do not read you or Aloysious son's blog.

    People have to wade thru your extended family stuff if you do go to facebook.

  • I have no desire to have my family read my blog. I let them read select stories I've written but as for my downloaded brain on a digital page, that they are not welcome to.

  • I don't facebook. Won't facebook. Hate facebook.

  • Whatever I post on FB, are 'one liners'. My life is pretty much detailed on Xanga. But my FB acct won't be detailed at all like Xanga. For those who don't want other ppl or family members reading what's going on thru FB, maybe they shouldn't be so detailed.

  • I detest FB but because so many have accounts I do to - not that I write anything on my wall...

  • I like Facebook for the way that you can be in touch with everyone.

  • @whyzat- I've spent these last several days searching for and experimenting with sites similar to Xanga. I never thought that finding a site similar to Xanga would take this much work. It's like the equivalent of job hunting and working a job in itself. LOL! Anyway, I will continue keeping my options opened and I'll update Xangans on my latest findings. Right now, I'm experimenting with My Opera's site.

  • I use FB to keep in touch with friends and family but will never blog there. I don't want all of my relatives privy to my innermost thoughts.

  • @Lady_Kelacy -  i feel the same

  • I don't used Facebook much these days, when looking for employment I prefer to keep in quiet.
    Stick to blogging, be careful of the profile photo I am using etc.

    I think you are a popular blogger.

  • facebook? is that when my face stuck to my book when i fell asleep while studying?

  •  I'm probably one of the last few who never has even tried FB. Heard many scary stories so I remain a bit paranoid about it. I like Xanga though.

  • yes,I am already connected to facebook and I usually put my blog on it daily. I hope Xanga will remain.

  • To those who don't want family reading their blogs, and don't want to link from their "real life" FB - just start another FB - to use just with your blogging site! This can be your blogging associated FB - for private xanga friends. It would give you a place to do some sort of posting - for free.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *