September 28, 2009

  • Apple Cider

     

     

    Apple Cider - yum!

    Apple cider (sometimes soft cider) is the name used in the United States and parts of Canada for an unfiltered, unsweetened, non-alcoholic beverage produced from apples. It is opalescent, or opaque, due to the fine apple particles in suspension, and may be tangier than conventional filtered apple juice, depending on varietal characteristics of the apples used.

    This untreated cider is a seasonally produced beverage of limited shelf-life enjoyed in the autumn, although it is sometimes frozen for use throughout the year. Traditionally served on the Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays, it is sometimes heated and spiced, or mulled. -wikipedia

    Near Rochester, you can get good apple cider at Schutt's.


    Dead Turkey Joke of the Day

    One day an old German Shepherd starts chasing rabbits and before long, discovers that he's lost.  Wandering about, he notices a panther heading rapidly in his direction with the intention of having lunch.

    The old German Shepherd thinks, 'Oh, oh! I'm in deep shit now!'  Noticing some bones on the ground close by, he immediately settles down to chew on the bones with his back to the approaching cat.  Just as the panther is about to leap, the old German Shepherd exclaims loudly, 'Boy, that was one delicious panther!  I wonder, if there are any more around here?'

    Hearing this, the young panther halts his attack in mid-strike, a look of terror comes over him and he slinks away into the trees.  'Whew!' says the panther, 'That was close! That old German Shepherd nearly had me!'

    Meanwhile, a squirrel who had been watching the whole scene from a nearby tree, figures he can put this knowledge to good use and trade it for protection from the panther.  So, off he goes, but the old German Shepherd sees him heading after the panther with great speed, and figures that something must be up.

    The squirrel soon catches up with the panther, spills the beans and strikes a deal for himself with the panther.

    The young panther is furious at being made a fool of and says, 'Here, squirrel, hop on my back and see what's going to happen to that conniving canine!
     
    Now, the old German Shepherd sees the panther coming with the squirrel on his back and thinks, 'What am I going to do now?', but instead of running, the dog sits down with his back to his attackers, pretending he hasn't seen them yet, and just when they get close enough to hear, the old German Shepherd says...  'Where's that squirrel? I sent him off an hour ago to bring me another panther!

    Moral of this story...

    Don't mess with the old dogs... Age and skill will always overcome youth and treachery!  BS and brilliance only come with age and experience.


    YouTube Today's YouTube Tune

    Martha My Dear - The Beatles


    Do you like apple cider? Do you have a dog named Cider?

Comments (15)

  • Hey, I'm first?
    You know we like cider. Ours is not even pasteurized, which means it's against the law to sell it, but we weren't going to sell it anyway. We had some yesterday at the Sept. birthday party.
    Have a good week!

  • I don't have no dog named Cider...nor cat for that matter...and yes I love apple cider...shushhhh...don't tell a soul but apple season is on up in the foothills...ooops...someone let the cat outta the bag...traffic for the weekends are backed up...lol...smile

  • I have never tried it.

  • When the cider is at it's seasonal best flavor and lowest price we buy 10 gallons and put it in the basement freezer. Then starting in December we open one jug a month each month around the 15th. We used up our last jug from last year... yesterday.

  • mmmmmm......hot apple cider sounds good on a blustery day like today here in chicago.  thanks for the warm up!

  •  know someone who has a dog named cider.... it's a silly name... but i bet she already knows that! why dont you ask her?!?!?

    but yum! schutts! now i need cider and donuts!

  • Tomorrow I'll stopping at Schutts for cider, doughnuts and apples...

  • Apple cider.....DELICIOUS!

  • I do not have a dog named cider, but I do have one the color of cider!!! I have actually been craving some good cider, its my favorite fall treat!!!

  • I had apple cider last night. Home made too.

    Good evening Donkey!

  • Beth's dog is Cider. My dog is named Maggie May after Rod Stewart's song

    so Martha was Paul's dog's name? I see

  • I like cider.. about one time a year.  It can be a little bit strong sometimes.   Happy Day Donkey

  • I like cold cider, but not hot. No, I don't have a dog named Cider, lol. I'm surprised you didn't mention cider doughnuts? have you ever had them? Mmmmmm!

    Kathi

  • I Like cider... a lot! YUM! I have MET a dog named Cider. Loved that joke.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *