September 7, 2013

  • The Sunday Donkey Times 9-8-2013

    DonkeyTimesBanner

    Labrador Adopts Orphaned Baby Squirrel – Pair Become Best Friends Forever

    September 5, 2013

    Could this be the cutest and most unlikely animal friendship yet?A kind-hearted Labrador and an orphaned squirrel have become inseparable after striking up an unlikely friendship.Caring canine Hoss brought the squirrel and his sister, who were named Jack and Jill, back to his owner’s home after they were apparently abandoned by their mother.‘My lab found an orphaned baby squirrel a few weeks ago. He put him in his mouth and brought him unharmed to us. Now they are buds,’ explained Reddit user Ithink_therefore_iam, who posted a cute picture of the pair online.

    While Jill died after just a few days, Jack is being hand-reared and is set to be released back into the wild in the next few weeks.

    ‘We have had Jack for three weeks and still have a few more weeks with him,’ explained the Reddit user.

    ‘I’m building a cage for him this weekend that he’ll be introduced to at some point once he’s solely on solid food.

    ‘It’ll be something in my backyard that will always be open and he can come back if he wants.’

    For the original article, go here.


    Fred the Ferret Goes On Hour-Long Rampage Attacking Residents in Block of Flats

    September 5, 2013

    A ferret terrorised residents in a block of flats when it went on a biting spree.The 20cm (8in) runaway, nicknamed Fred, snapped at Merrell Smith for almost an hour.

    Her neighbour and another person were also bitten before Fred was lured into a cat box with a piece of ham.

    However, he also nipped the RSPCA officer who collected him.

    Ms Smith, from Chilwell, Nottinghamshire, said: ‘I heard my neighbour calling me and when I opened the door there was this ferret, outside my door running around.

    ‘I was talking to my neighbour about what to do when it just literally went for me. I tried to shoo it away but it just kept going for me and going for me.

    ‘This went on for about an hour or so. It just kept trying to bite me. It was horrible and my ankle is painful to walk on.’

    She suffered puncture wounds to her skin and had to be treated by paramedics.

    Ms Smith also required a tetanus jab to ensure she wasn’t infected.

    Commenting on the incident, a RSPCA spokesman said the animal charity was currently searching for Fred’s owner.

    ‘The ferret did not appear to have been handled much and was not very friendly,’ he said.

    ‘It is currently in our care and we would appeal to anyone who has any information regarding who has lost the ferret to get in touch.’

    For the original article, go here.


    DonkeyTimesLifeStyleBanner2


    Toothpick World?

    Toothpicks4_SM

    Toothpicks3_SM

    Toothpicks2_SM

    Toothpicks1_SM

    Spazzz told me not to forget something - but I forgot what it was!


    DonkeyTimesLifeStyleBanner2


    MissSmartyPants

    Dear Miss Smarty Pants,

    Xanga 2.0 is here! It's alive! Where was it before it was here?

    Donkey

    Dear Donkey,

    Your question reminds me of the story of Dr. Frankenstein and his monster by Mary Shelly.  Like the monster in the book, the creators of Xanga worked long and tirelessly to create something they could bring to life after the death of something they loved (the old Xanga).  If you haven't read the book by Mary Shelly, it is a classic.  Go check it out at your library.

    Miss Smarty Pants


    MissSmartyPants
    Dear Miss Smarty Pants,

    Why does Donkey like pocket watches? Don't Donkey's have enough tics already? You don't think this question will tick him off do you?

    Your Favorite,

    Spazzzz

    Dear Spazzz,

    So you are implying Donkey has pockets. That is ridiculous. Donkey's don't wear pants. Look at all the pictures of him, there are no pants. He certainly doesn't need something to watch his non existent pockets.

    Miss Smarty Pants


    @Donkey_Guy_10 is this week's winner!


    DonkeyNewsProfile Well, that's the way it was!Your Donkey on the Beat, signing off until next week!

    cooked_turkey_walking_md_wht Dead Turkey Jokes of the DayA small boy swallowed some coins and was taken to a hospital. When his grandmother telephoned to ask how he was a nurse said ‘No change yet’.Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.

    A prisoner’s favorite punctuation mark is the period. It marks the end of his sentence.


    YouTube Today's YouTube Tune

    Reason To Believe - Wishbone Ash


    Did you see an interesting news article this past week? Do you have a question for Miss Smarty Pants? Report it to the Donkey!

Comments (15)

  • Cute post!

  • Posters can change comments?! Not good!

    Love the toothpick world and the dog with the squirrel on it's head. So cute.

    My words are copyright so you can't change them, OK?

  • The thing that freaks me out the most about the rampaging ferret story is the fact that the tetanus shot is called a tetanus "jab" in the UK. It's like, hold on while I punch you in the arm as hard as I can with this needle. For your own good. Ugh, I'm creeping myself out with this visual...

  • I love Stan Monroes Toothpick World..I guess that is what a guy does after he looses his broadcasting job on tv...

    • I guess!!!

      You need to go in on your Users screen and set your website to:

      http:\\dingdongdingbat.xanga.com

      That will make your name in your comments a link that people can click on to get to your site!

  • dear Donkey/Miss SmartyPants: Why is it that I can read the whole post when viewing from my reading section of the Dashboard, but when I come to this blog (and others. This isn't a single incident), It seems cut in half and the right side of photos and txt is not visible to me?

    • For some reason, they are preserving a wide left margin in the default themes they have setup for most users. If you have a wider screen - or possibly widen the browser window you are using - in may not clip the pictures!

  • I liked the friedship between the labrador and the tiny suirrel
    In friendship
    Michel

  • I SEE! Thank you. I couldn't have done it with out your help. Well, maybe I could have if I put forth a little more effort, in about three months. Thanks again!

  • photoshop on a pair of pants w/ pocketwatch to prove MSP WRONG!!

  • CIDER!!!!I am so glad that you post this, it is so much fun to read~

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *