June 25, 2013

  • Popcorn Popping!

     
    Tudesday2

    There are so many ways to pop popcorn at home.

    Here are just a few common ones used in the last 70 years or so.

    The motionless just sits there corn popper.

    Shake the foil covered pan on the stove - aka Jiffy Pop.

    Air popping - for grease-less popcorn - ptui!



    Stir crazy poppers with a motor that stirred the popcorn and oil.

    Microware popcorn.

    Make it in a pot on the stove.


    Dead Turkey Joke of the Day

    The best advice for teenagers is, leave home now while you still know everything.

    Why do they report power outages on TV?

    I didn't fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian.


    YouTube Today's YouTube Tune

    Reason To Believe - Wishbone Ash


    How do you like to pop corn at home?

Comments (17)

  • Not a huge fan of popcorn, but I do mine in the microwave. Don't go to movies much, but it's fun to splurge on the buttery, super unhealthy popcorn there!

  • BEST POST I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!! I actually have a cute air popper for my popcorn. I also have a specific pot if I have to use that for whatever reasoning. I think my favorite way to pop popcorn is in the big movie theater poppers. I had one as a kid and to watch that thing fill up more and more knowing you don't have to pay a arm and a leg for so much and you don't have to share with a long line up of people behind you. Microwave popcorn I think is my least favorite.

  • @Megabyyte - Some grocery stores in Canada sell the theater popcorn and for much cheaper then a theater where the popcorn is enough to bankrupt you let alone buying a ticket and drinks. Aha actually if I want theater popcorn I run to the grocery store. :)

  • @Foodhog - Yeah! It's insane how much it costs to go to the movies! I couldn't imagine taking a family of four to a new movie. That's like at least $40 in tickets alone. Then, if you buy the snacks, well... yeah. good luck with that! lol Who really wants to spend over $50-$60 bucks just to go see a 2 hour movie? Not I! I love $1 theaters! lol  And we only get snacks sometimes. Oh and we share. Don't know who can eat a ginormous tub of popcorn all by themselves.

    My only beef with popcorn is, it gets annoyingly stuck in my teeth and it makes me thirsty. That's why I don't eat it much. lol

    Why I went into all of that? I dunno! lol

    So first it's s'mores, donkey, and now popcorn?   I'll pass on the popcorn, but I'll take a s'more!

  • Air popper popcorn is good for making caramel corn. Otherwise, I have a special pan, too. It was an expensive saucepan that I thought I HAD to have, then I didn't like it for sauces, so now it is, as Hubby puts it, "the world's most expensive popcorn popper."

  • I usually just torch a corn field...

  • Mmm popcorn is my favorite snack! I love it best at the movies. Yumm! And I never could cook that Jiffy Pop without burning it. haha

  • @Megabyyte - Oh! I love popcorn! Yum! Yup! I can eat a giant bowl!

  • @Foodhog - Yeah! I like some oil on my popcorn - or a bit of butter - plus a little salt!

  • @whyzat - Yeah! Popcorn is best popped in a pan... Yum...

  • @mlbncsga - That's a lot of popcorn!

  • @Megabyyte - Ooops! I deleted the ad you relied to! Sorry! LOL!

  • @CuddlyKat - I love popcorn too!

  • Now you're making me hungry, and it's not popcorn time, it's bedtime.

  • @ata_grandma - Oh! Popcorn is a good midnight snack! LOL!

  • @Megabyyte - heh,heh unfortunately omegaman comment was removed and it looks like you are talking to the "air".

    Speaking of air, air popping is a healthy way to eat popcorn. Microwave popcorn uses bad oils and one person got sick from inhaling the odor of cooking popcorn that is also imitation!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *