April 26, 2013

  • Pocket Watch

    I have this pocket watch.

    It's over 140 years old.

    My grandfather gave it to me years ago.

    Based on its age, it was probably his grandfather's.

    It never ran - you could see it tried to run - but it would stop soon after starting.

    I took it to an old master watchmaker -

    and he said after briefly looking at it he thought he could fix it.

    He said he would have to manufacture a part for it.

    It turns out there was nothing seriously wrong with the watch.

    That big screw on the left was loose!

    Because it was loose,

    the big balance wheel on the upper right was brushing against the watch housing.

    I wound it and set it - and the watch runs - and keeps relatively good time.

    Amazing!

Comments (18)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *