April 24, 2013

  • How do you want to die?

    We all die. How do you want to die?

     

    You don't always have a choice.

    But with modern technology, more and more people have the opportunity to have some input in the way they die. Would you prefer to be strapped down, drugged into unconsciousness and have your life extended to the bitter end with painful (but futile) life extending procedures. Some doctors compare the procedures that many of their end of life patients go through to torture that no terrorist could imagine.

    Or pass peacefully, with only medications to manage pain? Surrounded by your family or your own home?

    A very interesting article on this is How Doctors Die.

    What do you think? How do you want to die?

Comments (43)

  • How do I want to die? I don't want to die, but I'd assume I'm going to die in some sort of accident. It just seems the likely way for me.

  • I'M GONNA LIVE FOREVER!!! I'M GONNA LEARN HOW TO FLY!!! lol, I want it to be quick and peaceful, preferably with my family by my side. but I also don't ever want to think about it . . . ever again!!!

  • Yeah, I'd want to die in my sleep. Ideally, go to sleep... and never wake up. Hopefully, no pain that way. But who knows!

    Just seeing the picture of that hospital room with all those machines, almost gives me an anxiety attack. yikes! Scary...

  • I want to die like my brother did---Suddenly and without expecting it. He was gone in 10 seconds.

  • i don't think anyone wants to die trapped in a fire, or crushed by a semi barreling down the highway a gazillion miles a minute, or murdered by a mugger with a gun, slowly dying as blood leaves you, or tortured by some sadistic serial killer, or bombed by some zealot, or slowly die in pain from incurable cancer, or pushed over a rocky cliff, or fed to hungry tigers

    well you know what i mean

    all that to say, of course i'd like to die peacefully, in my sleep, dreaming of beautiful things.

  • My husband has a co-worker whose uncle passed away two days ago of brain cancer. He woke up in the middle of the night screaming in pain for his wife, and continued like that till he passed away two hours later. I would not want to put my loved ones through that. I don't know how I want to die, just that I want it to be as bearable as possible for my loved ones.

  • I am going to live forever or die trying. That's an old quote but it's still funny.

    Really though? I like the idea of having my death count for something so I don't want to just die in my sleep. Maybe dying for a cause like maybe an officer got carried away while I was protesting human rights violations or something.

  • on the battlefield, if possible

  • I'd prefer to expire painlessly during a post-coital nap. Faced with something uglier, I'll just crawl into my very own body bag with a surely fatal overdose of opiates, a joint, and a bottle of Jack Daniel's. After I'm dead all anyone will have to do at the scene is zip the bag closed and cart me away, with no muss, no fuss, and little bother.

  • I am with Monte Python on this. I want to be chased by a gang of nearly naked women until my lungs give out.

  • @bonmots - I too wish to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather did. Not terrified and screaming like the passengers in his bus!

  • I WILL MORE THEN LIKELY GET LOST AND DIE FROM DEHYDRATION IN THE VALLEY. OR MAYBE GET RAN OVER IN THE MILES OF NOTHINGNESS AROUND ME. MAYBE ILL DIE FROM DRUGS OR MAYBE SOMEONE WILL KILL ME AND TAKE MY LAND AND MONEY??

    OR MAYBE I WILL LIVE FOREVER?? WHO KNOWS?

  • @bonmots - IVE SEEN SOME OF THAT HAPPEN HERE IN DEATH VALLEY OR PEOPLE GETTING LOST AND WHO KNOWS WHAT HAPPENS TO THEM. SOMETIMES IF WE FIND PEOPLE WE DIG A HOLE AND PUT THEM IN IT.

  • @Lady_Kelacy - BRAIN CANER? THAT SUCKS

  • @olwd and you know how i want to die

  • @Quakeplayer - From what I understand, it was pretty terrible. A family friend of ours passed away last year from brain cancer as well, and though it caused him deliriousness and paranoia, he didn't suffer that kind of pain.

  • @Lady_Kelacy - SORRY TO HEAR THAT

  • Maybe falling into a vat of chocolate. No rush!!

  • idk i will tell you when i am about to croke:)

  • Oh Man - I don't want to think about this right now...I can't even get my federal tax accounts balanced at work, I came over here to get away from the stress of numbers and now I have to think about dying - just shoot me now =/

  • I would guess everyone wants to die peacefully in their sleep - not knowing and not in pain.

  • @Thatslifekid - 

    Hello :o im gaby and im new at this D: help?

  • @Shadowrunner81 - 

    Me too, i want to be of service to mankind or at least my kinsmen when eventually my earthly sojourn ends- that is why i am volunteering to retire to red planet(mars) so that i live behind my wealth for others to enjoy

  • Ideally, I would pass quitely in my sleep.  Working in emergency services, has made me aware that any day can be my last so I never miss an opportunity to tell my family how I feel about them.  We have also had long discussions about what I expect, hope or request should they become responsible for my medical decisions. 

  • Truly I hope to just go to sleep one night and not wake again. I wish I could be like Elijah, and be taken up to heaven... to walk from this life into the next without the pain of death.(I'm sort of not sure that Elijah wasn't taken by a tornado though, and that would not be fun.) However, if faced with a condition which only robs me of true living, I do not wish to prolong life but rather to manage death as painlessly as possible. I'm sort of a believer in Kevorkian. I think in the old days doctors used to assist with hastening death when their patients were suffering, just no one questioned it.

  • [Would you prefer to be strapped down, drugged into unconsciousness and have your life extended to the bitter end with painful (but futile) life extending procedures. ]

    Yes. That way.
    Furthermore, I want to use all my life's resources to sustain that excruciating existence until they are all exhausted.
    Fuck the poor and needy.

    Or, if I have to commit suicide, I want to do like that one guy did back in Los Angeles in the 1990s. He stole a tank and drove around town until it ran out of gas and he was shot dead when he got out.

  • I want to die surrounded by my loved ones having made peace with them and God.

  • it varies from week to week. This week it was being attacked by 10-15 rabid wild boars. A few weeks ago, it was a craigslist assassin. I think I'll go with my favorite person in the world stabbing me to death at that motel on AL22E. That would be awesome. Just let me have Krispy Kreme first.

  • I want to close my eyes and wake up on the other side.

  • Suddenly in my sleep.

  • I don't know how I want to die, but the idea of falling asleep one night and never waking up frightens me.

  • I saw the other day that some guy was killed to death. I don't think I want to try that: sounds so final!

  • The last thing I want is to die quietly. How exactly... is debateable - there's so many cool ways to go.

  • My death wish is to be in front of Clint Eastwood, have him point his Magnum at my head and say... " Well, do ya feel lucky punk ? "

  • Do you have a list so we can sign up for our preferences? Maybe multiple choice and we mark from 1 to 5 with 1 being our first choice. If not, why don't we just live until we do die, and leave that up to God? Because that's what we have to do anyway.
    (Except for ones like my grandson, who shot himself........not a good choice!)

  • I want to die in my sleep like my granddad, not like his passengers.

  • @ata_grandma - Maybe read the article I linked about how doctors choose to die differently than they often treat their patients...

  • Dying is a horrific experience no doubt about it.  And so is growing old, the process that happens previous to dying.

  • I don't want to die. I want to go in the rapture. But if I do I want it to be defending someone else because after all I only get to die once in an eternity and I want it to make a difference. (I've already put my request into God.)

  • I'd like at the hands or a homicidal dominatrix while making a snuff film.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *