March 28, 2008

  • The Guitar

    Long ago, when I was a teenager, I learned to play the guitar.

    For a while, I took both piano and guitar lessons.

    You always learn lots of dopey little tunes when learning an instrument.

    It often takes a while before you get to music you really like.

    The first tune I learned on the guitar that I really liked was:

    "All My Loving" by Lennon and McCartney.

    First I learned to pluck out the notes of the tune - and later I learned the chords.

    That was a long time ago.

    Later on, I learned to appreciate the melodic bass line that I had overlooked for years.



    Dead Turkey Joke of the Day

    I believe five out of four people have trouble with fractions.

    If quitters never win, and winners never quit, what fool came up with, "Quit while you're ahead?"

    Does that screwdriver belong to Philip?

    Why doesn't Tarzan have a beard?


    YouTube Today's YouTube Tune

    All My Loving - The Beatles


    Did you ever learn to play a musical instrument? What was your favorite piece?

Comments (29)

  • I LOVE GUITARS!

  • My son bought an accoustic guitar at a yardsale when he was in about 6th grade.  He took lessons for a few years and is actually quite good.  His dream was to become a famous rock star, but I told him he needed something to fall back on if he didn't make it big.  But there is nothing better than a great guitar solo ...

    The only instrument I played was the "licorice stick" or clarinet.  I was in the band until 9th grade, at which time I decided to pursue hockey, which I stank at just as much as I did at the clarinet!  I always wanted to learn the piano ... and even tried to teach myself.  Oh well, I'm not that musically talented.

    Happy Friday to you!! Alicia

  • Oh and by the way:

    FIRST
    SECOND
    AND
    THIRD!!

  • I love guitar. I am also a fan of any good bass player.

    I never learned to play a musical instrument but if you sneak up on me while I'm listening to my favorite music, you might see some pretty fancy air guitar being played.

  • Good morning Donkey! I love the guitar, but my favorite is theSax. Too ad I am asthmatic... I would love to learn to play the Sax. I tried learning guitar, but I was awful! I wonder what a Donkey looks like strumming guitar! Take care and have a fantastic Friday!

  • I played clarinet for awhile... and taught myself to play our little organ too... I used to lover playing 'Falling leaves"

  • When I was a kid, my Mom made me take piano lessons. I hated it. I did like to play The Spinning Song at triple speed. That was fun! I actually still remember one of the songs I learned when I was first starting to play songs which included my left hand. Whoo-eee! The exciting trip under middle C!  The song was "Porcupines have prickly quills. Don't go near their favorite hills. If you do you'll have bad luck. For you surely will get stuck." Now please explain to me how I can remember that and forget my own phone number! LOL! As a teen, I taught myself to play guitar. Another girl and I used to sing and play together. In college, I traveled around a bit and sang at coffee houses. After Pea Hater and I were wed, I was in a band for a while. Good times. Then the band members started having kidlets, and life got more complicated! Suddenly we couldn't have jam sessions in the basement twice a week until midnight or travel around doing gigs on the weekends! Ahhh.... what memories your question today evoked, Donkey!

  • I love the guitar...I use to play along time ago...I had a beautiful 12 string acustic and man did I love it!!   Hope you are doing well donkey :)

  • Piano here.  12 years of lessons, accompanist for the church for years.  When I was a child I loved to play Fur Elise - now, I'm not sure what my favorite song would be.  I have begun to long for a piano in my life again.

  • Spaz warned ... er ... informed me that you'd be by to collect dues.  Do Donkey's like chile with their chocolate? 

  • Mr Donkey... I am curious... do you like the Beatles?

  • I got roped into playing the ultra nerdy violin. I stunk! I always wanted to play the saxaphone, but never did get to. One day tho! PS. If anyone has an old working sax they would like to find a new home for...

    I still have my nerdy violin, in it's nerdy case in a closet somewhere here in the house. I figured out how to play the theme song to M*A*S*H on my own with the nerdy violin... I was pretty proud of myself. It's been more than a quarter of century or so since I've ever played it!

    Happy weekend, Donkey.

  • Three left feet when dancing and ten thumbs when trying to play an instrument.  Nope I never conquered a one.  Love to listen to those who have accomplished the fine art of tunes

  • Good Morning Donkey. I can play gutiar

  • i play a mean radio and/or cd player!

  • I like to play drums ~ !!! ho ho~ ~

    have a wonderful day donkey~ !!!!!!!

    ona cat~.~

  • I always wanted to take guitar lessons.  I used to play clarinet in band.  But I quit before I got to high school.

  • Well, I am sure you mean music when you say "piece"...but today I am thinking of a big "piece" of birthay cake...come on over!

    I can play the piano some, but never really took up with any kind of musical instrument.....

  • I's a bit late getting out the gate...again...lol...I have a 2 octive span...knuckles that still hurt at times from a stupid ruler...lol...but I used to play Blue Danube (sp) and a few other classical peices...but I's never liked it...lately I've been play the record player, radio, cd, and tape player...nah I's ain't going near them there 8 tracks...they are toooooo old for one thing...and fer another they were scrooges thingie not mine...lol...have a good one...smile

  • oh fractions are easy...take a pizza, pie, or cake and divide it for how many teenagers times 3 or 4...lol...hollow legs ya know...lol...they tried to get me to play violen, guitar or harp but me fingers just would not get the hand of it and they stayed all nasty...lol...and as to the other questions....we ain't a going there cuz ya know all the answers...lol...smile

  • Happy Friday Donkey.  :)    I like to hear people play music.  I can't play, but I can sing.  I'm a good listener though.

  • Clarinet and bass clarinet.  I loved marches.

  • I wish I was able to play a musical instrument but alas....I can't....  But I love almost all types of music..

  • Happy Friday Donk!!!  I love classical guitar...  The only "instrument" I can play is guitar hero, lol...

  • Am I'm probably last!

  • nite donkey...smile

  • @FlashFosgitt - 

    hehehehehe! that was good!

  • i played piano... it was my first major in college.... my favorite piece? hmmmmm.... probably Beethoven's Sonata Pathetique. that was FUN to play! listen to it and you will see why... it's every mood a person can have, put together in one Sonata! way cool! and DRAMATIC! ahhhh i love it! there was a Brahms intermezzo i loved too... it was beautiful....

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment